Small Label... BIG Sound!


organissimo - Groovadelphia
organissimo - Groovadelphia
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23lbs
  • 20 Units in Stock

Price:   $9.99

Details: Groovadelphia, organissimo's first new CD since 2005's This Is The Place finds the band deftly refining their signature sound while simultaneously stretching the tradition of the organ-based trio.

Jim Alfredson - Hammond XK System (XK3), Fender Rhodes Mark I, Moog Voyager, Yamaha Motif ES rack
Joe Gloss - Stromberg Monterey, Hofner Jazzica Custom, and Wechter Pathmaker guitars
Randy Marsh - Yamah Beech Custom drums, harmonica

1. Groovadelphia (alfredson-gloss-marsh) [7:26]
2. Señor Buffet (alfredson-gloss-marsh) [6:25]
3. Third Right On The Left (alfredson-gloss-marsh) [4:45]
4. Traces (alfredson-gloss) [6:02]
5. Danco De Alma (alfredson-gloss-marsh) [9:19]
6. If Not Now, When? (alfredson-gloss) [6:44]
7. Bleecker (alfredson-gloss-marsh) [7:58]
8. My Sweet Potato Pie (a. marsh) [3:29]
9. Rhodesia (alfredson) [4:05]

Produced by organissimo
Associate Producer - Greg Nagy
Recorded in April 2008 by Jim Alfredson
Mixed & Mastered by Glenn Brown
Photographic imagery by Jim Colando

Featuring eight original songs plus another penned by drummer Randy Marsh's father (tenor saxophonist Arno Marsh), this new CD opens with Groovadelphia, a tribute to the City of Brotherly Love and organissimo's second home on the East Coast. From there things stay deceptively traditional with the spicey samba of Señor Buffet and the danceable blues shuffle of Third Right On The Left.

Just when things get comfortable, however, organissimo shifts direction with the lilting Traces, showcasing Joe Gloss' delicate touch on nylon stringed acoustic guitar. Jim Alfredson adds layers of subtle, evolving colors from a combination of Hammond organ and synthesizer. From there the journey leads to Danco De Alma, the undisputed centerpiece of the record, which begins with a duet of guitar and Fender Rhodes. Randy enters, pulling from his deep well of Latin rhythms to support a pulsing bass line and revolving chords. It soon becomes apparent that organissimo's tight ensemble interplay has never been stronger, as guitar and organ solos seem to emerge and recede at will, blurring the line between composition and improvisation. The journey comes to an end with an intense flourish of guitar, Moog, Hammond, and drums.

Solo organ introduces the poignant If Not Now, When?, a beautiful jazz-gospel testament. Bleecker returns to the funky side of town just before we get a taste of home with My Sweet Potato Pie. The album ends with a solo improvisation by Alfredson on Rhodesia.

"'s a beautiful record, a big advance over the previous two... Everything is so knit together, musically and as a recording job, and every track has several levels (at least) working at once -- hooks (or near hooks), rhythmic, timbral, and harmonic subtleties, etc. [Jim Alfredson is] a genius at registration... Joe is so damn hip but always in there, never flashy, and Randy is always thinking and feeling and sensing, always right." ~ Larry Kart, esteemed jazz critic and former writer for Downbeat

Original photographic images by local Lansing artist Jim Colando gives the CD a distinctive, textured look to match the sounds within.

Current Reviews: 0

This product was added to our catalog on Tuesday 29 July, 2008.